Happy Year of the Dragon

As you may know (or not), yesterday was the Chinese New Year.

Fun fact: You know the placemats that are in Chinese restaurants with all the years listed under the animals and it’s fun to find the year of your birth and say, “Oh, I was born in the year of the Boar,” and then you read the little description about people born in the year of the Boar? Well, my whole life I thought I was born in the year of the Ox. It took moving to China for me to figure out that early January 1985, is in fact within the Year of the Rat. The description of the Ox people sounds a bit more like me though, so I think I’ll claim Western ignorance and continue to believe I’m an Ox.

It seems like just yesterday it was the year of the Pig (aka 2007 – what, you didn’t know that off the top of your head?) and I was living a life of culture shock, collecting red envelopes (which contain money – the promise of a prosperous new year).

And now – a photo trip down memory lane.

Shopping district in central Shenzhen

The Chinese hometown, lit up at night

Amy and Amy outside the Forbidden City in Beijing

The wall that needs no formal introduction

My good friend No No (that is her chosen English name) who is getting married on January 28, 2012!

Hong Kong

Hong Kong

Shanghai: The Bund

Street Barbeque - so much more delicious than it sounds.

Friends.

Living overseas was an experience that I will never forget. I am proud to know first hand about a culture so different than the one in which I was raised.

Happy Chinese New Year – may the Year of the Dragon be prosperous and filled with joy!

10 thoughts on “Happy Year of the Dragon

  1. happy, happy new year:) this post was so seeped in heritage and culture and I love your enthusiasm for China! and street barbecue sounds divine. as a girl born and raised in the carolinas, you know I love a good barbecue:)

Comment! Please! I love comments like macaroni loves cheese.

